Clubs, Ambassadors Awarded at Anniversary Event

By September 1, 2018February 18th, 2021No Comments

2018 Club Awards

Corvette Clubs and Museum Ambassadors received awards and recognition as part of the National Corvette Museum’s 24th Anniversary Celebration August 30 – September 1, 2018.

Each year, Corvette Clubs are invited to submit their newsletters and websites for a judged competition. The materials are critiqued not only on content and design, but also on the promotion of the Museum. Taking top honors for the newsletter category was Central Colorado Corvette Club with 1st Place; Corvette Club of America, Inc. with 2nd Place; and Corvette Club of Hawaii with 3rd Place. In the category of Best Website, for 1st Place there was a two-way tie between Venice Florida Corvettes and Texas Corvette Association; Corvette Club of Santa Barbara took 2nd Place while Central Colorado Corvette Club racked up 3rd.

The Museum offers a parking lot banner sponsorship program annually, and clubs have the option to design their own banner. Those banners were judged this year by Chevrolet Corvette Product Marketing Manager Harlan Charles. Taking 1st Place is the Long Island Corvette Owners’ Association; 2nd place went to Route 66 Corvette Club; and with 3rd was the Central Illinois Corvettes, Inc.

A final award was given for the Volunteer Club of the Year. This award is given to a club who performs volunteer service to the National Corvette Museum. Earning the designation for 2018 was the Classic Glass Corvette Club of Marietta, GA. The club visited the Museum July 14-15, with over 20 members partaking in work around the Museum, from replacing carpet in the Club Room, to painting Victory Lane, working in the Corvette Store, stuffing membership packets and more.

An annual recognition of Museum Ambassadors who go above and beyond designates them as “Master Ambassadors.” For 2018, 72 ambassadors (or ambassador ‘teams’) earned this designation. Those club representatives include: Mark Kuhlmann (Alamo Area Corvette Club); Rick Scoville (Brookville Corvette Club); Donald & Debra Paulson (Cape Fear Corvettes); Brian Newton (Capitol City Corvette Club); Ed Snell (Central Illinois Corvette Club); Tuna and Susan Dobbins (Central Oklahoma Corvette Club); John Pedersen (Chicago Corvette Club); Ken and Cindy Olsen (Circle Cit Corvette Club); Charley Robertson (Circle City Corvettes); PJ Ray (Classic Glass Corvette Club of Marietta); Bob and Kim Baker (Coastal Carolina Corvette Club); Barrett Benson (Colorado Springs Corvette Club and Down the Road Corvettes); George Sipprell (Connecticut at large); Jim Egan (Corvette Cleveland); Edward Clark (Corvette Club of Atlanta); Chuck Fast (Corvette Club of Michigan); Randy Flock (Corvette Club of Rhode Island); Jack and Elaine White (Corvette Club of Western Pennsylvania); Frank LoMonaco (Corvette Club Santa Barbara); Fred Kayser (Corvettes Limited of Bowling Green); Michelle Smith (Corvettes Limited of Central Georgia); Hunter and Betsy Reese (Corvettes of Clarksville); Sue Woodland and Ron Trembly (Corvettes of Durham); Steve Tillman (Corvettes of Southern California); Charley Gray (East Tennessee Corvette Club); David Putz (Florida Corvette Club); Joe Hall (Fox Valley Corvette Club); Dan Feidler (Gate City Corvette Club); Hillary Dukas, Chris and Doug Reed (Georgia at large); David Ellingson (Glass Odyssey Corvette Club); Gary Wollenhaupt (Grand Sport Registry); Thomas Brooks (Greater Dayton Corvette Club); Adam Ellison (Kentucky at large); Parker Darr (Lake of the Ozarks Corvette Club); Johnny and Edie Downs (Lone Star Corvette Club); John Mullane (Lookingglass Corvette Club); Doc Plue (Mid Missouri Corvette Club); Harlen Kittrell (Midwest Early Corvette Club); Michael Woldanski (Myrtle Beach Corvette Club); David Miller (Nashville Corvette Club); Richard Walker (Natural Glass Corvette Association); Randall Shinn (NCM Fighter Squadron); Glenda Fischer (NE Chapter NCRS); Karen Blandini (North Shore Corvettes); Tom Prohaska (North Texas Corvette Club); Janet and Nick Polasek (Ontario at large); Byrle Layman (Original Corvette Club of St. Louis); Carl Stover (Perry Corvette Club); Paul and Barbara Mariano (Queen City Corvette Club); Mike Spathelf (Route 66 Corvette Club); Frank and Laura Sancineto (RTP Corvettes); Skip Straus (Sam Houston Corvette Club); John Kappel (San Jacinto Corvette Club); Jack DeLong (Skyline Drive Corvette Club); Bill Wenzel (South Shore Corvette Club); Dennis Lombardo (Southwest Corvetes); Jeremy Welborn (Southwest Oklahoma Corvette Club); John Bieglecki (Spirits of ’53 Corvette Club); Marty and Judy Dooley (St. Louis Corvette Club); Tom Owen (Star City Corvette Club); Paul Herzing (Steel Town Corvette Club); Mike Ward (Sunshine State Corvettes); Rick Creekmore (Texas Corvette Association); Glenn and Andrea Johnson (Tri-Cit Corvette Club); Mike Walsh (Venice Florida Corvettes); Bill Olszewski (Vets with Vettes and Corvette Owners); Ron Tanner (Village Vettes Corvette Club); Len Tucker (Washington at large); Buzz Marston (Western States Corvette Council).

We sincerely appreciate everyone who serves the Museum through the Ambassador program!